Recipes to Nurture the Family Soul

Old Fashion Potato Soup

image

Ok, first- a confession… The photo above is NOT a picture of my Grandma’s soup recipe, its a stock photo I found on Google. But it as close to the look of her soup as I could find.

I was going to make some this week and share the recipe, but this cold rainy weather just wont let me wait.
So im sharing the recipe now, and I will share a photo this week when I make it!

Old Fashion Potato Soup
1 medium Onion, minced
3 Large Potatoes, peeled and diced
2 Tbsp. Butter
3 cups whole milk
Salt & Pepper to taste

(*now, I need to stop here and tell you that the onion puts in SO much flavor. Unfortunately, Mr. H is allergic, so I swap it out for 1 Tbsp. Minced Dry onions, and 2 stalks of celery, minced.)

In your soup pot, add the butter over medium-low heat, and add onion (and/or celery) and cook until translucent. Next, add your peeled and diced potatoes. Mix together with the onions (and/or celery). Add enough water to JUST cover the potatoes. If there are a few corner pieces sticking out, that is perfectly fine!

Cover and simmer on low until potatoes are just fork tender. Next, add Milk and mix well. Simmer until hot. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Now, I know my grandma didnt do this, but I mash some of the potatoes out to make the soup thicker and creamier.

Here are some ideas to add major flavor to the soup!

Baked Potato Soup
3/4 cup cheddar cheese
1/2 cup Cooked and crumbled Bacon
Top with a spoon of sour cream

Spicy Potato soup
1 can of Rotel
3/4 cup Pepper Jack cheese

Vegetable Chowder
1/2 cup corn (fresh off the cob is best!)
1 large carrot (add this to the onions in the beginning)
1/2 cup baby lima beans (I soak these the night before and add when I add the potatoes)

Ham & Potato Soup
This is a great way to use up left over holiday ham!
Just cut about 1/2 lb. of ham into small pieces. If it has glaze on it, even better!
1/2 cup swiss cheese

Leave a Reply

