Cleaning and Organizing · Housewife Encouragement · Musings of a Housewife

Why I think Chores are the most important part of my day.

clean house good life

Yes. I truly believe that a clean house is a sign of a good life. I also believe its a sign of a good housewife. That being said, please don’t think I am never lazy, or sick. Trust me, at least twice a month I throw my hands in the air and say “Screw this!”

So, why do I think chores are the most important part of my day? There are a few reasons why-

  1. Clutter and Dirt bring Chaos
    Yes, I truly believe that. Why? Because if I am ready to fold laundry, and my dining room table to full of clutter, I have to take time out to clean it off and put everything away. Now, if I take time the night before to tidy up, I know I will have plenty of room to fold everything.
  2. Organization brings Free Time
    By keeping myself on a schedule, I know things will get done in a timely manner. I know if I have something to do Saturday night, the house will be clean before I leave, and clean when I get home. So, no extra cleaning to rush to on Sunday morning.
  3. A Clean Home is a Happy Home
    There is no reason to argue about who is going to do the dishes, if you just do them. Me? Ha! Only in the morning. I used to love dishes. But that was before I had a child who likes to dirty about 10 after school. I used to get so upset about how many dishes were in the sink by dinner. Not anymore. Why? Because I make sure ALL the dishes are clean by the time she gets home from school, and then anything from that point on, including dinner dishes, is her job.
  4. I never think, “Whats that smell??” anymore
    Yep, I was one of those wives. But I’m not anymore! If I hear that question, its almost always in regards to dinner, or the Glade wax melt. (Which, can I just say, not so impressed with the Pumpin Spice this year. Really love the Fall scent tho!!)
  5. “Whats for dinner?” isn’t a question.
    No one has time to ask anymore. Sure, I’ll ask Mr. H if there is something special he wants me to make any time soon, and I’ll make sure I do. But, for the most part, I make my schedule, and stick to it. I’ve decided that I’ll head to the market every Monday while he is at work, and pick up what I need for the week. That way, I’m alone, and there are no extras being bought.
  6. “I don’t have any socks!” isn’t my issue
    I do laundry every morning. What ever clothes are in the hall way basket, get washed. Why? Because Mr. H is a cook, and I’m just not a huge fan of my home smelling like garlic and onions lol. So, as long as all the clothes are in there, they get washed. Our daughter learned how to wash clothes when she was 9 (we lived on a single floor, and the laundry as right off the kitchen, so it was a good chore for her). To this day, she is responsible for her own laundry, but if she NEEDS something washed, she has to put it in the hamper. If she doesn’t, then guess what? Not my issue.

I really think the whole schedule thing has helped. As I mentioned in my intro, I have BPD, so the structure really helps too. I love my family, and I love my home, an dI Really want to keep both clean.

Leave a Reply

