Musings of a Housewife

Why Cleveland is no longer the place I want to call “Home”

image

I was born in Cleveland, Ohio. A beautiful March day in 1983. I remember many things from my neighborhood growing up. What i don’t remember was violence.

This morning, at 3:30am, the 100th homicide of the year happened just 20 blocks from my parents home. That is just scarey.

When did the gangs, guns, and violance take over the streets?

I remember there being parts we were told not to go, but we went there anyways. Nothing ever happened. Now, there are people shooting pedestrians of they don’t answer properly when asked “Where you from?”

There are babies dying, and mothers living with the pain.

When the hell did this happen?

I live on the West Side now, and the shootongs have mostly been on the East Side, NONE of them have even been near us. But the fact that its in the same city is becoming too much.

Leave a Reply

