Recipes to Nurture the Family Soul

Dinner tonight: Campbell’s Cheesy Chicken & Rice Casserole Recipe

Picked up a few things at Target this evening, and decided to whip this tasty thing up for dinner. So, while we may have a late Supper, it wil be a good one!
The only thing I did different was- I put the chicken on the bottom, added Broccoli, and I topped it with crushed Ritz crackers that I crumbled in a bag.

Campbell’s Cheesy Chicken & Rice Casserole

  • 1 – 10 1/2 oz. can Cream of Chicken Soup
  • 1 1/3 cup Water
  • 3/4 cup uncooked Instant Rice
  • 1/2 tsp. Onion Powder
  • 1/4 tsp. Black Pepper
  • 2 cups Frozen Mixed Veggies (I use broccoli instead)
  • 1 1/4 lb. Boneless Skinless Chicken Breast
  • 1/2 cup Shredded Cheddar Cheese

Directions-

  1. Heat the oven to 375*
  2. Mix soup, onion powder, black pepper, water and vegetables together, and spread in the bottom of an 8″ x 8″ baking dish.
  3. Top with chicken, and cover with foil.
  4. Cook for 50 minutes, or until chicken is done.
  5. Sprinkle with Cheese, and let sit 10 minutes before serving.

Now – here is how I change it up a little!

I add the cheese to the mixture, and I actually put the chicken in the bottom of the pan. I don’t cover it. Instead, I top it with crushed Ritz crackers that have been mixed with a little bit of unsalted butter.

This is one of my families favorites!

Low Carb? Try tossing some raw cauliflower in a food processor, and then using it in place of the rice!

chicken and rice

One thought on “Dinner tonight: Campbell’s Cheesy Chicken & Rice Casserole Recipe

Leave a Reply

